Studybay Review:
based on real mystery shopping

A*Help Score: 82.43/100
🔥 published November 2, 2022 - updated April 11, 2024

StudyBay, a well-known service that offers personalized academic assistance, instantly caught our attention in our quest for the best writing service in the market. A platform that has helped thousands of students since its founding in 2013 unsurprisingly raises interest. Is StudyBay worth your attention? Without further ado, let’s dive into this review and figure it out! See How We Test Essay Writing Services for more details about our testing approach.

Quick Overview

Studybay is perfect for anyone feeling insecure or hesitant about using an essay service. Exceptional customer support and considerate writers will clear all doubts and produce amazing results.

The Good
  • Affordable prices
  • Responsive customer support
  • High customer-writer communication
The Bad
  • Limited discounts and no loyalty programs
  • Not many additional services
A*Help's Choice Our verdict AHelp score 🔥 Updated April 2024
Service icon
CustomWritings
Best quality papers 86.75/100 Visit website
Service icon
99Papers
Best value for money 85.5/100 Visit website
Service icon
SpeedyPaper
Best customer support 81.95/100 Visit website
Service icon
EssayShark
Best contact with writers 80.8/100 Visit website
Service icon
EssayPro
Best overall experience 77.1/100 Visit website
An infographic with a short Studybay review describing the ways it was tested and how it received an A*Help Score: 82.43/100

StudyBay & Mystery Shopping: Experience Review

Updated in 2024

We believe that judging before even trying something is not an option for our demanding audience. That’s why we organized our own examination and ordered two academic works from StudyBay. The first task included a 4-page memo to the CEO citing 4 sources with a 7-day deadline. The second one was a 2-page personal essay, with a 6-hour deadline. This is A*Help traditional pattern for all essay writing service reviews.

Here is our testing and research scenario:

✍ Paper⭐ Personal Essay (2 pages)💼 Business Memo (4 pages)
🎓 Academic level Undergrad. (yrs. 1-2)Undergrad. (yrs. 3-4)
✅ Paper formatMLAChicago / Turabian
⏰ Deadline6 hours7 days
👉 Paper instructionsFor this assignment, you will be writing a personal narrative–a story–illustrating an event or experience exemplifying gratitude. In other words, share a colorful story about an experience or event for which–either during or after the event– you feel or felt thankful. An example might be writing about your experience as a senior in high school and the teacher who helped you to achieve your goal of graduating and attending college. Another example might be writing a story about your experience growing up in a rural community, acknowledging that it was this small, but mighty, community that made you who you are today, and for this, you are thankful. This assignment should be at least 550 words. Underline your descriptive thesis statement or the point of your story. No outside/secondary sources are needed. See Appendix C – Formatting and Submitting Your Work See Formatting your Essay: MLA 8th EditionYou are the Government Relations Director at a Canadian business. You have been asked to write a memo to your CEO about COVID-related government impacts on your business, comparing two provinces in which you operate. Your assignment is to write & submit this memo Your Task:
1. Choose a specific business you work in (Air Canada, Loblaws, 3M Canada, etc).
2. Choose two provinces to compare for your memo.
3. Research both provinces – what restrictions were in place in both provinces that affect your business? What supports are in place?
4. Write a memo in three parts: (1) how COVID is impacting our business, (2) a comparison of two provinces, (3)reflections on Canadian federalism and any recommendations for the CEO on how to work with governments to lead your business through the crisis

Looking for more essay topics and ideas for inspiration? Check our Best essay writing topics digest. The most popular categories for custom writing assignments according to the weekly market data released by A*Help.

We sent both papers to our US professor for grading according to American educational standards. Dr. Sybil Low reflects on how richly spoken a student’s work can be and if there are any dangers to using descriptive language:

Academic essays require different parts of speech, just like any other type of writing. Descriptive words are meaningful in college writing because they create a vivid image in the reader’s mind. They can also help to emphasize a point or make an argument more convincing. However, overusing adjectives can be risky because it can make the writing seem overly flowery and detract from the main point. Pat Thompson, a professor of Education, in her blog claims that creative language has a place in academic writing but it should no overshadow the central purpose.

Generally speaking, the service did its job, providing us with the completed tasks we had asked for. Having applied our unique quality control methodology known as the A*Help score, we accorded Studybay a high place in our ranking.

Reliability of StudyBay: Paper Quality – 36.43/50 ⭐️⭐️⭐️

What is the best assignment writing service? It’s a platform the purpose of which is to solve customer problems by providing quality papers. It’s the backbone of their business strategy. We asked US college professors to grade assignments provided by StudyBay’s writers to ensure original and trusted measurement of their quality. After the evaluation, the papers received the following scores: the personal essay – 88/100 pts, memo to the CEO – 57.7/100 pts. If you got baffled by a large score gap, you are not the only one! Having analyzed a few services already, we can say that an imbalance of outcomes is a usual occurrence. However, this is the first time we see a more expensive work getting a lower mark.

A screenshot of how we asked for revisions at studybay
We asked for revisions at StudyBay.com (click to see a large picture)
A screenshot of statuses of our orders at studybay
Statuses of our orders at StudyBay.com (click to see a large picture)

Let’s dig into the main issues to better understand the nature of the scoring. The first paper showed good results in terms of integrity, length, mechanics (such as grammar), reasoning, and logic. The main problems occurred with the formatting. Even though, in general, it wasn’t that bad, there’s still room for improvement, specifically vertical and line spacing, as well as page header and font control. 

The second paper (memo to the CEO) had much more critical issues. Besides similar formatting problems, source details were questionable and left much to be desired. The in-text citing was also marked as seriously deficient. Moreover, punctuation and word choice were mediocre as well. 

Of course, as a part of our experience, we’ve asked to revise the completed order. Customers can ask for a free correction within 10 days of receiving their paper. There’s also an option to extend this period to 20 days if the writer agrees to do so.

Sybil Low comments on what she’s missing in the personal essay written by Studybay:

All in all, I am satisfied with this paper. The writer’s grammar, spelling, and punctuation are all excellent. However, I think the author could have chosen more varied words to better communicate their ideas. Broader word choice would have made their essay more descriptive and engaging. Moreover, the topic begs for adjectives.

What are our thoughts? To be honest, StudyBay presented us with some unexpected results. We received papers that averaged 72.85/100 pts, which is far from the bare minimum. On the other hand, one of the tasks didn’t even make it to the passing grade benchmark. From our point of view, even considering the unsatisfying grade of the second paper, you can still trust StudyBay and give your tasks to them. Just make sure to give as many detailed instructions as possible (especially regarding formatting) to avoid any pitfalls.

If you are interested in a more detailed breakdown of the grades, refer to the information below:

Paper1: “SCORE: 88.0 out of 100 pts. Document formatting is good, but there is room for improvement. Document formatting issues: vertical spacing; line spacing; page header; font control. |Observations:| {Integrity}: 100%. {Length}: 100%. {Mechanics:} 89% (spelling 100%, grammar 97%, punctuation 94%, word choice 63%). {Formatting:} ungraded. {Reasoning, logic:} 89% (efficiency 76%, acuity 90%, clarity 92%, objectivity 100%).”

Paper2: “SCORE: 57.7 out of 100 pts. Document formatting needs work. Document formatting issues: vertical spacing; horizontal spacing; reference indent; body header; page header; section headers; margin control. |Observations:| {Integrity}: 100%. {Length}: Just a tiny bit short (98%)—try to write a bit more. {Mechanics:} 79% (spelling 96%, grammar 95%, punctuation 67%, word choice 59%). {Formatting:} 35%. Reference formatting: main problem area—source detail (issue no., date); most frequent error types—attention to detail, element misformatted, element miscapitalized. Incorrect reference section header. In-text cite grade: seriously deficient (in-text cites mispunctuated; missing 2 in-text cites). {Reasoning, logic:} 83% (efficiency 70%, acuity 73%, clarity 90%, objectivity 100%).”

Average paper score: 72.85

ParameterPaper 1. Personal Essay (2 pages)Paper 2. Business Memo (4 pages)
Paper score88/10057.7/100
Paper price$34$65
Completion time4 hours6 days

Reviewing the Value: StudyBay Value for Money Score – 21/25 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

What does StudyBay have to offer? This platform gathers proficient writers with years of experience in respective professional areas who provide you with expert academic assistance. The interesting part is that these writers bid to complete specific assignments. Thus, customers can benefit from selecting the best bids from interested writers to ensure their orders are taken by the best performers.

A screenshot of communicating with our writer at studybay
Communicating with our writer at StudyBay.com (click to see a large picture)
A screenshot of our orders at studybay
Our orders at StudyBay.com (click to see a large picture)

Besides a vast selection of writers, StudyBay also provides its customers with a guarantee on each project. If not satisfied with the service, clients can opt, in 10 days, for a full refund. Moreover, you are also eligible to get the full price back even if you happen to change your mind and decide to cancel the order before more than 50% of the agreed timeframes pass.

As for the price range of the service, it took us by surprise. If you are looking for a cheap paper writing service, StudyBay is not that one. The average paper price of $49.50 doesn’t seem extraordinary, however, something else does. Having ordered two tasks, we didn’t expect to see such a large price difference. For the personal narrative, we were charged $34, which made it one of the cheapest works we had ordered. The memo for the CEO, on the other hand, cost $65. This was the second and the last time we saw a distinction of 52% between our orders per provider. Aside from that, the revision was free of charge and could be made in 10 days (or 20, if asked personally).

When receiving completed assignments, we encountered another bolt from the blue. Astoundingly, the writers completed our tasks almost at the speed of light! The essay was ready 4 hours early, and we received the memo task 5 days in advance! Needless to say, this gives clients a fair share of time to make all the needed corrections.

Now, let’s talk about discounts. Unfortunately, StudyBay doesn’t have a lot to offer in this area. There are no distinctive coupons, even though you can get a $10 early bird bonus via email while placing your first order. Loyalty programs are also not an option here. What StudyBay does have, though, is a referral program: when you invite your friend to use the service, you both get a $20 discount for your orders.

That said, we consider StudyBay to have good results in terms of the value-for-money ratio. Of course, you don’t get many discounts, but, considering the average price range and their bidding feature, you can choose the most suitable option both for your budget and study needs. Besides, their exceptional commitment to time limits is advantageous as well.

2/3
Deadline & Terms
7/7
Free services
6/7
Additional services
4/4 
Average paper price
2/4
Discounts

StudyBay User Experience: Overall Experience Review – 25/25 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

StudyBay knows firsthand that communication is key to building connections and excellent customer service. Live assistants are always ready to provide quality guidance with the service, as well as help you choose the appropriate writer. However, if you still have any further questions, you would probably want to contact their support team directly. What’s more, the well-thought design offers a great user experience and easy website navigation, so you will have all the important information at your fingertips. 

The variety of payment methods is also worth mentioning. Honestly, not every platform in our rating can boast about having such versatility as StudyBay does. From ApplePay to PayPal, from Visa and Mastercard to Discover — everyone can choose an option that works best for them. And if you have concerns about your security, here you won’t need to worry. StudyBay collects only the information you provide them with on your own, such as email, password, and username. And your payment information gets fully protected by an encryption security protocol.

A screenshot of chatting with the writer at studybay
Chatting with the writer at StudyBay.com (click to see a large picture)

We would also like to pinpoint our remarkable experience of interacting with their writer. While chatting with our expert, we had a chance to explain all the intricacies of the needed task, as well as keep track of their work. The writer was also ready to complete the revision and introduce all the necessary changes upon our asking. 

Overall, we can say that StudyBay exceeded our expectations. From their customer support service to security and writer-customer communication – the service ticked every box on our checklist. With no exaggeration, StudyBay passed our experience test with flying colors.

7/7
Support
4/4
Security & Privacy
7/7
Payment Methods
7/7
Communication

StudyBay Review: What’s it All About?

So, is StudyBay worth considering regarding academic assistance? Given the aforesaid, and according to our personal statement writing service reviews, we would say that this website, undoubtedly, should not only be on your list of possible essay-writing helpers but also stand at the very top of it. Despite not having discounts, the service offers helpful support and quite affordable prices. Their bidding system allows customers to choose the most suitable writer for the effective execution of their task. Therefore, unsurprisingly, after a thorough and objective evaluation, StudyBay has received a high A*Help score and made it to the top part of our ranking.

Exclusive Studybay coupon code

Studybay provided a special promo code for A*Help’s readers.

Use AHELP15 to get a $15 discount for your first order. Promocode should be inserted here:

Negativity rank – 29.6%

It’s impossible to provide an objective review if you don’t check the probable negative sides of the service as well. And what’s a better way to do so than browsing through negative reviews? 

Nevertheless, there’s always a chance that even some comments of dissatisfaction are prepaid or fake. Consequently, we assess the found feedback in terms of the seriousness of the problem and its plausibility, filtering out the most questionable statements. We present all the calculated ratios in our reviews, so you can make your own judgments. The companies are also welcome to process the presented information and make adjustments to their platforms accordingly.

As for StudyBay, we have found a few negative statements about their service. Some customers expressed their dissatisfaction with extra fees added to their orders. Other reviews mentioned problems with grammar, formatting, and writers failing to follow task requirements. However, even with the described issues, the site’s negativity rank reached only 29.6%. In our opinion, this indicator does not affect a generally positive experience and the quality of this service.

FAQ

StudyBay Reviews

After reading through negative reviews regarding StudyBay on such platforms as Sitejabber and Reddit, we have picked the most trustworthy testimonials and conducted our analysis based on them. You can refer to the Negativity rank section to get a better idea of our findings.

Is StudyBay a Scam?

We have conducted a real mystery shopping experience by placing two orders of our own through StudyBay. Thus, you can rest assured that their service is not a fraud and can be considered during your search for an essay writing platform.

Is StudyBay Legit?

The A*Help score is only applied to legit platforms and established custom writing services. Brand awareness and market feasibility of the company are the main base for our presumptions

Is StudyBay Safe?

StudyBay issues assurances and encrypts all the personal data collected in accordance with its Privacy Policy. After browsing through the terms, we can conclude that there are no fishy policies you’d need to be cautious about.

Is StudyBay Trustworthy?

After ordering two papers and receiving completed tasks back, we can confirm the complete trustworthiness of this service.

Is StudyBay a Good Service?

We’ve assessed StudyBay through the prism of our own A*Help methodology and awarded it with a high score — 82.43/100 pts. Thus, we can sincerely call StudyBay a quality and reliable service.

StudyBay Specs

Minimum deadline8 hours
Maximum deadlineAny
Min price per page$15+ 40% service fee
Standard Page275 words
AVERAGE paper price (acc. to our mystery shopping)$49.50
>Free services: 
– Revisions 
– Formatting styles 
– Qty of used sources 
– Title page 
– Auto-match with the expert 
– 10 more days of warranty 
>Additional services: 
– Studybank – samples 
– More bids for $5 
– Pay in installmentsYes (with a $5 fee for the second transaction or through Klarna)
>Payment Methods 
– PaypalYes
– Google payYes
– Apple payYes
– VisaYes
– MastercardYes
– DiscoverYes
– CryptoNo
>Discounts 
CouponsNo
Loyalty ProgramNo
Referral ProgramShow Studybay to your friend and you both get a $20 discount
>Security & Privacy 
Need a phone number to registerNo
Need an email to registerYes
Security payment SSLYes

Follow us on Reddit for more insights and updates.

Comments (22)

Welcome to A*Help comments!

We’re all about debate and discussion at A*Help.

We value the diverse opinions of users, so you may find points of view that you don’t agree with. And that’s cool. However, there are certain things we’re not OK with: attempts to manipulate our data in any way, for example, or the posting of discriminative, offensive, hateful, or disparaging material.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bartosz Browning March 14, 2023

StudyBay is my go-to whenever I’m too hungover to write an essay! They’ve saved me from failing so many times.

Roosevelt Carver April 13, 2023

Wow, what a bold way to put it. As for me, I was hesitant to try StudyBay at first. But after pulling an all-nighter and realizing I still had an essay due, I gave it a shot.

Findlay Ramos March 2, 2023

I have to say, I was quite disappointed with StudyBay. I needed a US history II essay, and even though I selected a writer with good reviews, the quality of the work was just not up to par.

Lacey Crane February 25, 2023

I needed help with my economics essay last month, and StudyBay saved the day! Their bidding system allowed me to choose a writer with expertise in economics, and they delivered an A-worthy paper.

Bertha Jackson February 16, 2023

StudyBay’s bidding system is pretty cool. I managed to find a writer with a background in computer science for my programming assignment. The code they provided was clean and efficient! 💻👍

Jatt February 10, 2023

This is what I call a quality review. Evidence-based and highlights all the necessary facts. I wish my articles were something like this

Beatrix Summers February 4, 2023

I used StudyBay for my literature review on “To Kill a Mockingbird,” and I was amazed by the writer’s in-depth analysis of the novel. I’ll definitely be using their services again!

Destum February 2, 2023

I tried using this site by the order placement process threw me off. There are too many steps and I don’t have so much time

Sollia January 26, 2023

This is not a review this is a whole research! How are you guys so dedicated? I would have gotten bored long time ago investigating all these sites. There are just too many of them

Lisly January 17, 2023

I didn’t like the writers I worked with on this platform. In my experience, they haven’t asked me anything about my orders. We only started communication when the time for the revisions came. Well, maybe it depends on the person

Rant January 13, 2023

Honestly, I feel so tired from my uniersity all the time that I might order from this StudyBay site as well. Besides, it seems pretty convincing to me that their writers can do quality work. So, why not try it, am I right?

Billy Hebert March 29, 2023

Rant, there is grain of truth in what you are saying. I used StudyBay for an essay on cultural differences in communication, and the writer did a great job incorporating examples from various countries. The bidding system allowed me to find someone with a background in anthropology, which really made a difference!

Weniday January 5, 2023

@Mile Hey, I can confirm that the support system at StudyBay is pretty good. Their assistants are organised and they always answered my questions. I haven’t met even one rude agent. They are all very nice and understanding. So you will definitely recieve great service here

la_phile December 29, 2022

So you are telling me I could’ve gone to that party yestarday instead of spending my time doing research for my project? And I could’ve just given this task to a bunch of writers? Why haven’t I read this review earlier!

Citan December 23, 2022

This review is great and all, but I still think that if you do your tasks yourself you recieve a much more quality outcome. Besides you gain skills and knowledge! Don’t underestimate that

Quaria December 16, 2022

How can I learn about their writers though? I want to know their levels of experience and expertise. The work I need to get done is pretty complicated and I’m not sure these guys will handle it

Xonaent December 10, 2022

I don’t know about Studybay, but this review is so good it made me want to try and use this site. Even though I can handle my asssignments myself pretty well

Quelan December 2, 2022

I used this site once. These guys definitely know how to save you time on your homework. I think I might even use them once more for harder tasks

Mile November 25, 2022

I wish you’d written more about their customer support. Because it’s nit quite clear if they’re really good and provide quality assistance or not. Maybe if I couls see the conversation on the screenshot I would believe what this review says

eyad_rols November 20, 2022

I think I could work as one of the writers on this site. Like, I deal with my assignments pretty well, so, I think I could just take similar ones and earn money from it.

Eneyam November 13, 2022

Reading through this review I finally understood what I look for in these kind of services. For me it’s not about the support system, but about quality work and writers. I want my assignments to be written by people who have an understanding about both the writing process and the topic. I don’t want to work with no ammateurs

Tlyn November 5, 2022

I am surprised that it took the writers so little time to complete those tasks. Like, okay, the essay is easy, but the memo order? I would have spent hours just preparing myself mentally to sit down and do it

Login

Register | Lost your password?